Yamaha Yamaha LS16 Handcrafted Acoustic Guitar

Yamaha LS16 Handcrafted Acoustic Guitar
Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Chosen materials and Yamaha´s unique ability to blend traditional skills with advanced manufacturing techniques delivers a guitar of exceptional quality at a price that is hard to beat.

Body Top

Most manufacturers are using Sitka spruce tops for their high-end models. In our experience, we have found that Engelmann spruce naturally suits the role for top woods better than any other. The overriding quality for body top material is an allowance for resonance and Engelmann spruce has this attribute in abundance. It is a light wood that is easy to work and enables a good tone response with a wide harmonic range. Visually Engelmann spruce is comfortable on the eye and its opaque light yellow tint is reminiscent of a mature acoustic instrument.

Back & Side
Yamaha uses solid rosewood for both the back and sides on all L series models with the exception of the 6 level instruments, which offer laminated rosewood back and sides. The rosewood blends extremely well with the Engelmann spruce top. It disperses resonance evenly and effortlessly.

Neck Block
The neck block reinforces the neck joint. Yamaha has improved the conventional “C” block design by enlarging the surface area that is in contact with the top of the guitar. The block securely meets the underside of the top adding a real depth to the tone of the instrument.

(Non-scalloped X-bracing allocation at a 90-degree angle)
X-bracing maps out the vibration patterns of the guitar. Each of the eight braces has been carefully positioned in order to bring out the tone in a balanced fashion and find a natural harmony with the guitar’s tone woods.

• Top: Solid Engelmann Spruce
• Back & Sides: Solid Rosewood
• Neck: 3-ply Mahogany, Rosewood
• Fingerboard: Ebony
• Bridge: Ebony
• Tuners: Diecast Gold
• Colour: Natural


Product IDYAM-LS16-GTR
Limited Shipping Please note that we are only able to supply this item within the UK, Republic of Ireland and Republic of Malta.