Mikrokosmos 5 (Nos 122-139)

Mikrokosmos 5 (Nos 122-139)
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduc...


  • Alternating Thirds
  • Bagpipe Music
  • Boating
  • Change Of Time
  • Chords Together And In Opposition
  • Fourths
  • Jack-In-The-Box
  • Major Seconds Broken And Together
  • New Hungarian Folk Song
  • Perpetuum Mobile
  • Staccato
  • Staccato And Legato (2)
  • Stamping Dance
  • Studies In Double Notes
  • Syncopation (3)
  • Unison
  • Village Joke
  • Whole-Tone Scales


The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composer's son Peter Bartók.
In 1945 Bela Bartok described 'Mikrokosmos' as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for 'didactic' purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the 'world of the little ones, the children'. Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on Bartók's life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written.
The 153 pieces making up 'Mikrokosmos' are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty.


Product IDCOBS000040385
Composer/Artist/Author Bela Bartok
Instrumentation Piano Solo
Publisher Boosey & Hawkes
Publisher Ref No BH100057
Language Eng & Fr & Ger & Hung
Media Book

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: