This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


The term Danceries can be found in a copy of Playford's Dancing Master which is an extensive collection of folk and popular tunes of the 17th Century (and no doubt earlier). The melodies themselves are a mixture of new and old (although where the old occurs, it has been adapted in mood and composition and is often interspersed with completely new material). The harmonies and rhythms bring a breath of the new into these themes and add to the drama of the set.

'Lull me beyond thee' is gentle and lilting, almost a barcarole, this movement is very much a reverie. The original tune had the name Poor Robin's Maggot - a rather disconcerting title; maggot, however, in 17th Century parlance meant whim or fancy. 'Catching of Quails' is a colourfully buoyant scherzo on an original melody. 'My Lady's Rest' is a rather tender pavane, also on an original theme, with Moorish leanings. 'Quodling's Delight' - the final movement to the set combines one of the melodies from Playford's Dancing Master with an original contrasting melody - a dramatic and exuberant ending to this set of Danceries.


Product IDCOBS012591269
Composer/Artist/Author Kenneth Hesketh
Instrumentation Concert/Wind Band
Publisher Faber Music
Publisher Ref No 0571520170
Media Book & Part(s)

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: