Works For Violin And Piano

Works For Violin And Piano
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Whilst still on a study visit to the Conservatory in Leipzig in 1879, Leos Janácek began writing works for violin and piano.

He composed at least seven Romances, but only one has survived, quite a simple piece, with the piano frequently doubling the violin part. It is described in the manuscript as Romance No.4. From the same period comes the Dumka, a passionate work that was soon reworked, and which some scholars have suggested may be one of the Leipzig Romances.

The composition par excellence scored for these instruments is the four-movement sonata. It was composed during Janácek's most brilliant period of creativity between 1914 and 1922, when he reached his maturity. The works from these years demonstrate Janácek's striving for maximum concentration of musical thought, precise modulation of form and balance between the individual parts of the work.


  • Allegro
  • Dumka
  • Romance
  • Sonata


Product IDCOBS012883391
Composer/Artist/Author Leos Janacek
Editor/Arranger Krejci & Alena Nemcova, Jan
Instrumentation Violin & Piano
Publisher Barenreiter
Publisher Ref No BA9508
Media Book & Part(s)

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: