Suite No 1 In G Major

Suite No 1 In G Major
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


The separate edition of the first Suite for violoncello solo by Johann Sebastian Bach contains the musical text of the well-regarded Wiener Urtext edition with all six cello suites of Bach by Ulrich Leisinger. Thanks to new findings on the transmission, Leisinger managed to re-evaluate the sources which did not leave the structure of the musical text and the associated delicate problem of the slurs untouched. His re-evaluation gave reasons for a stronger emancipation from the manuscript copy of Anna Magdalena Bach which had always been cited as main source until then though it was very unreliable with regard to the articulation; thus the new edition leads to more convincing solutions. The present separate edition is the perfect starting point to study Bach's suites for violoncello solo in class and provides amateurs with a technically 'accessible' masterpiece in cello literature.


Product IDCOBS012885639
Composer/Artist/Author Johann Sebastian Bach
Editor/Arranger Leisinger, Ulrich
Instrumentation Cello Solo
Publisher Wiener Urtext
Publisher Ref No UT50260
Language Ger & Eng & Fr
Media Book

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: