Octet Op 20

Octet Op 20
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Urtext based on the Leipzig Mendelssohn Complete Edition. An early stroke of genius. Along with the Overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream, the Octet op. 20 ranks among the uncontested masterworks of the young composer's early years, 1825/26. The work crosses the boundaries from chamber music to orchestral ensemble – not only in the form of the famous Scherzo which Mendelssohn expanded through additional wind parts and inserted into the London version of the First Symphony op. 11. A composer’s note in the printed edition of the parts reads: This Octet must be played in all parts in the style of a symphony; the Pianos and Fortes must be executed with great precision and shaped more distinctly and individually than is otherwise customary in pieces of this genre. The present new editions of the parts and study score are based on the volume of the Mendelssohn Complete Edition published in 2003 and present an authoritative text based on all major sources.


Product IDCOBS012886135
Composer/Artist/Author Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Editor/Arranger Wehner, Ralf
Instrumentation String Ensemble
Publisher Breitkopf & Hartel (Edition)
Publisher Ref No KM2297
Language Ger & Eng
Media Set of Parts

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: