Hebrides Op 26, The (Concert Overture)

Hebrides Op 26, The (Concert Overture)
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Mendelssohn mentioned this work for the first time in a letter written in Scotland to his family quoting the first 21 bars of this programmatic overture. Over the years it was to receive numerous revisions.

Firstly, there were two ”Rome” versions, the first of which Mendelssohn played to Berlioz on the piano. These were followed by two “London” versions. Bärenreiter’s new Urtext study score includes the two London versions, following the scholarly-critical edition of all four versions edited by Christopher Hogwood and published in 2004 (BA9053).


Product IDCOBS012890196
Composer/Artist/Author Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Editor/Arranger Hogwood, Christopher
Instrumentation Study Score
Publisher Barenreiter
Publisher Ref No TP395
Language Ger & Eng
Media Book

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: