Pres De La Mer And Other Collected Suites For Solo Piano

Pres De La Mer And Other Collected Suites For Solo Piano
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Characterized by editor Sara Davis Buechner as "elegant Romantic salon music of the Russian school, subtly genteel, with early impressionistic shadings," the piano music of Anton Arensky formed the foundation of works by Rachmaninoff and Scriabin. Both of the latter-day composers were Arensky's pupils, and their teacher's music contains the seeds of Rachmaninoff's idiomatic pianistic style and Scriabin's impressionistic array of musical colour.

This collection of short works for solo piano contains the title suite as well as Six Canonic Pieces, op. 1; Three Esquisses, op. 24; Six Essais sur les Rhythmes Oubilées, op. 28, Four Etudes, op. 41, Six Caprices, op. 43; and Scherzo, op. 8. The star of the collection is the beautiful and gracious set of pieces titled Près de la Mer, op. 52. Rarely printed in its entirety, the suite offers a sensitive and opulent evocation of the seaside.

Dover Original.


  • Four Etudes Op 41
  • Pres De La Mer (Six Esquisses) Op 52
  • Scherzo Op 8
  • Six Canonic Pieces Op 1
  • Six Caprices Op 43
  • Six Essais Sur Les Rhythmes Oubliées Op 28
  • Three Esquisses Op 24


Product IDCOBS012972943
Composer/Artist/Author Anton S Arensky
Editor/Arranger Buechner, Sara Davis
Instrumentation Piano Solo
Publisher Dover Publications
Publisher Ref No 0486488624
Language Eng
Media Book
No of Pages160

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: