Concerto In C Major Op 56 (Triple Concerto) & Fantasia In C Minor Op 80 (Choral Fantasy)

Concerto In C Major Op 56 (Triple Concerto) & Fantasia In C Minor Op 80 (Choral Fantasy)
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


This volume contains two of Beethoven's most unusual, highly innovative and original works: the Concerto in C Major, Op. 56, for piano, violin, cello and orchestra; and the Fantasia in C Minor, Op. 80, for piano, chorus and orchestra.

To this day, the "Triple Concerto" remains part of a rare breed in the literature--a fascinating symphonic framework of interaction between the classical orchestra and a trio of intimately interdependent soloists. The work remains a favorite vehicle of the great Beethoven specialists, with numerous recordings by legendary performers.

The "Choral Fantasy" is a rarity in the Beethoven canon of ensemble music, uniting the virtuoso display of a semi-improvisational solo piano with the vocal and instrumental richness of chorus and orchestra. Said to have been composed under great time pressure, the Fantasy concludes with an extensive choral setting of a text by an unknown poet: "Schmeichelnd hold und lieblich klingen" ("Flatteringly lovely and fair are the sounds of our life’s harmonies...Accept gladly the gifts of beautiful art...").

Reprinted from the authoritative Breitkopf & Härtel editions, this volume offers musicians and music lovers an inexpensive, high-quality full score of two exceptional works.


  • Concerto in C Major Op 56 (Triple Concerto)
  • Fantasia in C Minor Op 80 (Choral Fantasy)


Product IDCOBS012708671
Composer/Artist/Author Ludwig van Beethoven
Instrumentation Full Score
Publisher Dover Publications
Publisher Ref No 401480
Language Ger
Media Book
No of Pages166

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: