Cambridge Companion To Brahms, The

incl. VAT
Cambridge Companion To Brahms, The
Available to buy

Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


This Companion gives a comprehensive view of the German composer Johannes Brahms (1833–97). Twelve specially-commissioned chapters by leading scholars and musicians provide systematic coverage of the composer’s life and works. Their essays represent recent research and reflect changing attitudes towards a composer whose public image has long been out-of-date. The first part of the book contains three chapters on Brahms’s early life in Hamburg and on the middle and later years in Vienna. The central section considers the musical works in all genres, while the last part of the book offers personal accounts and responses from a conductor (Roger Norrington), a composer (Hugh Wood), and an editor of Brahms’s original manuscripts (Robert Pascall). The volume as a whole is an important addition to Brahms scholarship and provides indispensable information for all students and enthusiasts of Brahms’s music.


Product IDCOBS012774200
Composer/Artist/Author Johannes Brahms
Editor/Arranger Musgrave, Michael
Publisher Cambridge University Press
Publisher Ref No 9780521485814
Language Eng
Media Textbook
No of Pages348

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: