Brahms: Symphony No 1

Brahms: Symphony No 1
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Brahms’ First Symphony has been hailed as Beethoven’s Tenth. Its controversial status and relationship in the Beethovenian tradition is considered alongside other important issues in the early reception history of this key work in the symphonic repertory. David Brodbeck begins with an account of the lengthy genesis and complicated background to the writing of the symphony, before providing a thorough critical reading of the work, movement by movement. In particular, the author reveals a dense web of extra-compositional allusions - references in the music to works by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Schubert, and Robert Schumann - in which, the author argues, much meaning resides.


Product IDCOBS012774218
Composer/Artist/Author David Lee Brodbeck
Editor/Arranger Rushton, Julian
Publisher Cambridge University Press
Publisher Ref No 9780521479592
Language Eng
Media Textbook
No of Pages125

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: