Baroque Guitar In Spain And The New World, The

Baroque Guitar In Spain And The New World, The
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


A substantial amount of early music for the guitar remains unknown to modern performers and audiences. In recent years, however, musicologists, scholars and performers on period instruments have provided a wealth of accessible new source materials which players can now begin to interpret in convincing and effective ways. Nevertheless, many still feel intimidated by the prospect of sorting through and learning to use these resources for the first time. For the uninitiated, just knowing where to start can be difficult.

This anthology contains representative selections from the publications and manuscripts of four important Spanish Baroque guitarists: Gaspar Sanz, Antonio de Santa Cruz, Francisco Guerau, and Santiago de Murcia. In addition to being fun and entertaining music for all to enjoy, this collection is intended to help bridge the gap between scholarly editions and performance editions by providing a hands-on introduction to tablature transcription and to issues concerning historically informed performance on the modern guitar.


  • Canario [Antonio De Santa Cruz]
  • Canario [Francisco Guerau]
  • Canarios [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Cumbees [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Espanoletas [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Fandango [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Folias [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Jacaras [Antonio De Santa Cruz]
  • Jacaras [Santiago De Murcia]
  • La Cavalleria De Napoles Con Dos Clarines [Gaspar Sanz]
  • La Esfachata De Napoles [Gaspar Sanz]
  • La Guastala [Santiago De Murcia]
  • La Minona De Cataluna [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Las Hachas [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Marionas [Francisco Guerau]
  • Marionas [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Matachin [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Menuet [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Paradetas [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Passacalles In B Minor [Francisco Guerau]
  • Passacalles In G Minor [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Passacalles [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Pavanas [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Preludio In D Minor [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Rujero [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Suite In D Minor [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Suite In G Major [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Villano [Antonio De Santa Cruz]
  • Villano [Francisco Guerau]
  • Villanos [Gaspar Sanz]
  • Zangarilleja [Santiago De Murcia]
  • Zarabanda [Gaspar Sanz]


Product IDCOBS012882393
Editor/Arranger Koonce, Frank
Instrumentation Guitar Solo
Publisher Bay (Mel) Publications Inc
Publisher Ref No 21122
Grading Intermediate
Language Eng
Media Book
No of Pages176

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: