Piano Moods: Contemplations

Piano Moods: Contemplations
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Did you know that Bruckner wrote for the piano? Or that Liszt wrote some pieces that are not fiendishly difficult? Contemplations is selection of fascinating pieces for intermediate-level pianists. The music is drawn from a wide range of periods and styles, creating intriguing juxtapositions of pieces by well-known and lesser-known composers. Bernstein's tribute to Sondheim rubs shoulders with Erik Satie; Bartók, Benjamin and Bortkiewicz are bedfellows; Mozart and Tchaikovsky are represented alongside their contemporaries Koluh and Cui. There are some thoroughly accessible new pieces too by contemporary masters.

Piano Moods is an exciting new piano series from Boosey & Hawkes. Each volume is devoted to a particular mood. The pieces chosen draw on Boosey & Hawkes' extensive collection of wonderful music as well as lesser-known gems from the past - some of them from surprising sources - and newly composed works.


  • Adagio For Glass Harmonica KV 346 [Mozart]
  • Albumleaf [Schwertsik]
  • At Dawn [Scott]
  • At The Cradle Op 39 No 4 [Cui]
  • Barncleupedie [MacMillan]
  • Cantabile (Sammlung Fur Kenner Und Liebhaber Wq 55) [C P E Bach]
  • Danse De Travers No 2 (Pieces Froides) [Satie]
  • Evening song (Sonata No 2 Op 118) [Schumann]
  • Farewell (For Children) [Bartok]
  • For Neil [MacMillan]
  • For Stephen Sondheim (13 Anniversaries) [Bernstein]
  • Forest Lullaby (Contry Pieces Op 27) [Quilter]
  • Gone Op 71 No 6 [Grieg]
  • Grey Clouds [Liszt]
  • Melody In The Mist 25 (Mikrokosmos IV) [Bartok]
  • Nocturene No 1 (A Shepherd Did Roam The Hills) [Rowley]
  • October (Les Seasons Op 37b) [Tchaikovsky]
  • Pastorale [Kozeluh]
  • Pensées Lyriques Op 11 No 2 [Bortkiewicz]
  • Piano Piece No 17 [Hywel Davies]
  • Piano Piece No14 [Hywel Davies]
  • Prelude Op 16 No 3 [Scriabin]
  • Quiet Contemplation On An Autumn Evening [Bruckner]
  • Rest By The Brooklet, A [Benjamin]
  • Sonate No 13 [Cimarosa]
  • Visions Fugitives Op 22 No 4 [Prokofieff]
  • Waltz (Five Piano Pieces) [Delius]


Product IDCOBS012883341
Instrumentation Piano Solo
Publisher Boosey & Hawkes
Publisher Ref No M060118852
Language Eng
Media Book

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: