Le Tombeau De Couperin

Le Tombeau De Couperin
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Created during the First World War, Maurice Ravel's composition 'Le Tombeau de Couperin' casts a longing look at the past while at the same time being full to the brim with traces of modern music. Each of the six movements is dedicated to friends who died in battle. In 1919 Ravel arranged four of these movements for large orchestra by skilfully borrowing melodic lines and colours from the piano setting.
In the present new arrangement written for the Stella Piano Trio, these elements were adjusted to the instrumentation and their relationship within the ensemble. As in Ravel's orchestration, each note is taken into account, even if the cello is sometimes given a melody which is an octave lower than the original.


Product IDCOBS012886122
Composer/Artist/Author Maurice Ravel
Editor/Arranger Van Brink, Matthew
Instrumentation Piano Trio - Piano & Violin & Cello
Publisher Schott (Edition)
Publisher Ref No ED20217
Language Ger & Eng
Media Book & Part(s)

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: