Hunting Quartet (3rd String Quartet)

Hunting Quartet (3rd String Quartet)
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


The Jagdquartett (Hunt Quartet), which Jörg Widmann wrote as his third string quartet in 2004, following the Choralquartett, also begins with a visible gesture. After a short signal cry from the performers, the piece starts by quoting Robert Schumann's Papillons op. 2, and for its full duration retains this gesture, these starting sounds. The degrees of recognizability do change continuously, to be sure, in the furious, racing organism of the score. The contours change into forms on another level, yet now and then the begining material returns clearly to the fore, initiated anew by a cry from the performers, and is then digested or mutated as a rhythmic study into a field of harmonic experimentation. On rare occasions, there are moments of pause - as though the musicians were testing the atmosphere, as though they were sensing the weather, so as ultimately to continue playing the quartet across the fields an forests of notes. A hunt after joyful performance, a chase, the whip cracking, after the thing to be shot, the sound, its performer, perhaps the composer himself? - A last shout, morendo, dal niente... - The victim is not the audience, at any rate.


Product IDCOBS012886175
Composer/Artist/Author Jorg Widmann
Instrumentation String Quartet
Publisher Schott (Edition)
Publisher Ref No ED9749
Language Ger
Media Book & Part(s)

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: