String Quartet No 4

String Quartet No 4
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


The 4th quartet is really number 7. This single-movement work replaces the 4th quartet of 1984 which was concerned with The America’s Cup (and sailing of course!) In attempting a revision of two quartets (Nos. 3 and 4), I was immediately aware that my quartet-writing had changed and improved beyond all recognition by 2010. Both quartets have been re-composed though the 3rd retains some of the material from the first movement, which I always liked.This quartet fluxes and fluctuates between slow/luminous and fast/agitated music. Unlike much of my music, it is abstracted from my usual preoccupation with responses to the natural world. Instead, it looks ‘inwards’ to my own inner emotional ‘landscapes’. The year 2009 was a terrible year in which I lost three close friends to cancer and an elder brother to Alzheimer’s disease. It was also a year in which my wife was diagnosed with breast cancer; something from which she has thankfully made a great recovery.At times like these, emotions are sorely tested and highlighted. Four people I loved have gone, so this music must remain as testament not to death, but to the magnificent fragility and loveliness of life. It closes with a gentle and almost vaporising ‘benediction’… a kind of ‘amen’ if you like…Edward Cowie.August, 2010. Maurens, France.


Product IDCOBS012948481
Composer/Artist/Author Edward Cowie
Instrumentation String Quartet
Publisher Schott (Edition)
Publisher Ref No ED13391
Media Set of Parts

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: