String Quartet No 2 Op 2

String Quartet No 2 Op 2
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


This quartet was written in 1954 when the composer, Carlo Martelli, was a 19 year old student at the Royal College of Music. This publication is of a recent revision of the work. There are three distinct sets of ideas in the first movement which are freely developed, although vestiges of sonata form can be discerned. The second movement is a scherzo and trio, which is joined without a break to the slow third movement - an interesting feature of this conjunction, is that at the close of the slow movement ideas from the trio and then the scherzo return to round things off. The last movement is a succession of free variations on a theme in which the interval of a fourth predominates. For conservatories and professionals.


Product IDCOBS012972341
Composer/Artist/Author Carlo Martelli
Instrumentation String Quartet - 2 Violins & Viola & Cello
Publisher Broadbent & Dunn
Publisher Ref No 13999
Media Set of Parts
Duration30 min 30 sec

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: