Twelve Traditional Carols From Herefordshire

Ask us about our Price Promise - click here
Twelve Traditional Carols From Herefordshire
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


First published in 1920, the Twelve Traditional Carols from Herefordshire have been entirely reset in a new and practical format, with the choral arrangements of the songs underlaid for all the verses and presented in open score alongside voice-and-keyboard versions for accompanied or solo performance. An acknowledged authority in the subject, Roy Palmer has provided fascinating notes on the texts and music. His preface places the collection in the context of Vaughan Williams's lifelong interest in folk song both as collector and creative artist, and of his collaboration with Ella Mary Leather, who did much to preserve the folklore heritage of her native county and of the gipsy tradition in particular. The Twelve Traditional Carols from Herefordshire have been recorded by baritone Derek Welton and pianist Iain Burnside on Albion Records ALBCD013.


  • Angel Gabriel, The
  • Christmas Now Is Drawing Near At Hand
  • Dives And Lazarus
  • God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen
  • Holy Well, The (First Version)
  • Holy Well, The (Second Version)
  • Joseph And Mary (To The Tune Of There Is A Fountain)
  • Miraculous Harvest, The (Or The Carnal And The Crane)
  • New Year's Carol
  • On Christmas Day
  • Saviour's Love, The
  • Seven Virgins, The (Or Under The Leaves)


Product IDCOBS012972502
Editor/Arranger Leather & Ralph Vaughan Williams & Roy Palmer, Ell
Instrumentation Vocal Score
Publisher Stainer & Bell
Publisher Ref No D97
Language Eng
Media Book

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: