Sonata Op 17

Sonata Op 17
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Jim Kelsey's three movement 'Sonata for Flute and Piano, Opus 17' was composed between 1989 and 1995 and is written in a late Romantic style. The first movement is constructed essentially in traditional sonata-allegro form, with an extensive coda augmenting the new material heard in the development. The passionate second movement opens with a lyrical theme that culminates into a free cadenza at the end. The third movement is written in theme and variation form. Of importance, the fifth variation is written as a four-part fugue and the final variation culminates by joining the theme of the third movement with that of the first. This work not only adds to the existing repertoire of intermediate-advance flute music, but also teaches young people about traditional classical forms, such as the rondo, theme and variations and the fugue. The first performance took place on the 12th June 2011 with flautist Heather Carpenter and the composer Jim Kelsey on piano at Bethany Baptist Church in Puyallup, Washington, U.S.A. Suitable for teaching studios, secondary schools, colleges and conservatories.


Product IDCOBS012973327
Composer/Artist/Author Jim Kelsey
Instrumentation Flute & Piano
Publisher Broadbent & Dunn
Media Book & Part(s)
Duration22 minutes 20 seconds

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: