Violin Pieces Vol 2

Violin Pieces Vol 2
This item is no longer available to order - but click here for our *** EDUCATIONAL DISCOUNT CATEGORY *** page Find similar products
Need assistance? Call 020 7432 4400


Nikolai Andreyevitch Roslawez (1880/81-1944) studied violin in his youth, taught violin later and very often even gave concerts himself. The works he left comprise numerous compositions for his favourite instrument: two violin concertos, six sonatas, cycles such as Three Dances (1923) and 24 Preludes (1941/1942) as well as many individual pieces. The two volumes published here for the first time complete the publication of his works for this instrumentation.
The different and varied character pieces date from the years 1907 to 1910 and 1930 and show the development of his personal style. Whereas the early pieces are rather traditional, Roslawez' later pieces show his way toward his individual tonal system; the closeness to Skriabin's music is conspicuous. The repertoire for this style is particularly sparse, and this is why both volumes are real treasure chests of character pieces and can be recommended to every violinist.


  • Arabesque (1909/10)
  • Poeme (1909/10)
  • Poeme Douloureux (1909/10)
  • Poeme Lyrique (1909/10)
  • Romance (1909/10)


Product IDCOBS012973900
Composer/Artist/Author Nicolai A Roslavets
Editor/Arranger Lobanova, Marina
Instrumentation Violin & Piano
Publisher Schott (Edition)
Media Book & Part(s)

Questions & Answers

Ask a Question: